diy: recover a stool

We do a lot of car playing at our house, which involves lots of sitting on the floor. When I spotted this at a thrift store, I knew it’d be perfect to perch on while playing cars. There was a sticker on the bottom that read, ‘Brass Foot Stool $17.50’. HA! Absolutely no way. It didn’t look like the normal tag this thrift store uses, so I asked John, another employee I know by name, if he could help. I wasn’t sure what I’d pay for it, but I knew not much. When he said, “Oh, 3 dollars?” I replied, “3? Sold!” I took it home and after the kiddo went to bed, I got to work.

So here’s what I did:

1. Normally, I would take off the original upholstery and change the foam. But this was going to be a quick fix with what I had on hand. It didn’t smell and wasn’t in bad shape, so I just sprayed it with some Febreze allergen reducer and let it dry.

2. Then I flipped it over and unscrewed the legs with my drill. You can use a screw driver, but a drill’s more fun (and much quicker). One of the things I always check is whether the legs can be taken off easily to change the cushion. Normally, on chairs and stools like this, it’s no problem. So I unscrewed the legs.

 (I wanted to cover the seat in an old rice bag, but since it’s thin fabric and I didn’t want the original flower upholstery to show through, I did two layer. The first fabric was something I had in my stash- a light tan color).

3. Lay the fabric down, right side down. (For the first fabric it didn’t matter because it was the same on both sides). Then lay the cushion on top of it. Take your staple gun and start wrapping the fabric up around the sides and stapling, making sure to pull tightly and evenly. I do one full side (skipping the corners for now), then the side across from that, to pull evenly. Then the other side, followed by the side across from it. I save the corners for the end and pull and wiggle to get it to lay flat and look the way I want. **You want to make sure not not pull your fabric over the holes that the legs have to screw into!**

4. Since that was just my first layer of fabric, I got my rice bag and did the same thing again. I made sure I had it positioned correctly, then laid it right side down and started stapling.

5. Once the fabric was stapled, I screwed the legs back on. I made sure to stick the ends of the fabric slightly under the legs to hold it down.

6. Admire your new stool and play cars in comfort!

Top left: the original stool. Top right: What the legs looked like, so I knew I could take them off. Bottom left: Febreze spray. Bottom right: the rice bag I wanted to recover it in.

This is what the stool looked like underneath after it was recovered and the legs were back on.

Do you have anything you could recover? It’s pretty simple! Have a blessed day and be inspired! Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “diy: recover a stool

Leave a Reply

