diy: banish bifold doors

I’ve never been a fan of bifold doors. Not only for aesthetic reasons, they’re also major finger pinchers. Not such a good match with kiddos in the house. Luckily, they’re easy to take down! Our bedroom has two closets (which is awesome) but they were both adorned with bifold doors. The way our bed’s positioned, we’d lay in bed and stare at the doors. They were fickle and would sometimes fall out place and then not close. I just wasn’t a fan of these doors. So I asked Tristan if he’d take them down for me and he obliged. I’m not exactly sure how he did it and I don’t think he knows either. They just pop out of the track on the top and then lift out of the track on the bottom. They are kind of heavy, large and awkward, so it was nice to have a big strong husband take care of it for me.

Anyway, once the doors were removed (and I got a good look at how unorganized the closets were) I went downstairs and found the fabric I was planning to make into curtains. It was $1.50/yard at Walmart some time ago and I snatched some up. I was relieved that I had enough to make two panels of curtains per closet. Since the fabric is sort of sheer, I wanted it to be full enough so you couldn’t see through to the disorganization.. er, I mean, the closets’ contents. 

I sewed rod pockets on the top so the curtains would hang on tension rods. Tension rods, by the way, when positioned in front of the bifold door track, completely hide it. You never see the track. When you need to put the doors back up, all you do is pop them back into the track. I have yet to hem the curtains. Nap time ended before I got around to that! But I’m very pleased with this quick little tweak in our bedroom! I’m still debating whether or not I want to take the bifold doors off our laundry closet that’s down in the kitchen! We’ll see.

Those frames hanging between the closet doors… the top picture was from a thrift store for 25 cents. Really. 25 cents. The one below it is an old book cover that I liked. I made an old frame into an earring holder using screen door mesh. The next one is from an old calendar I found at a thrift store for 10 cents. It was a calendar of Monet prints. I got it for the artwork and have framed some. The last is also an old book cover.

One thought on “diy: banish bifold doors

  1. Pingback: part 1: our bedroom makeover | rice designs

Leave a Reply

