diy: paper plate holders

Isn’t it fun to have friends over dinner? I think so. What’s not always fun is cleaning up afterwards, when the food has started to fuse to every dish you own. It’s usually then that I wish I’d used paper plates. I know they’re not the best option economically and environmentally, but sometimes it’s just nice to have a quick clean up. For more casual gatherings, the ease of paper plates can’t be beat. Here’s a quick, easy way to make them prettier and sturdier!

IMG_6535

what you need:

spray paint. I chose gold, but you can use any color(s).

wicker paper plate holders. I got mine at a thrift store for 10 cents a piece.

paper plates.

a drop cloth or something to spray paint on.

IMG_6544

what you do:

1. Quickly wipe off the wicker plate holders. Remove any lose dust. Or you could wash them. Just make sure they’re completely dry before you paint them.

2. Set up your drop cloth or your spot to spray paint. Lay out your paper plate holders.

3. Give each holder a thin coat of spray paint, letting the paint dry between coats. Then flip them over and spray the other side. Get them nice and completely covered in paint, spraying from different angles, all around.

4. Once they’re completely dry, stick your paper plates in the holders and have a party!

IMG_6631

At 10 cents a pop, you could make a set to specifically match a certain party theme. Or use one to give your neighbor a plate of cookies. They’d be perfect at a picnic. As I was spraying mine gold, I even thought they’d be cute at an outdoor wedding. Or a bridal or baby shower. Lots of possibilities!

IMG_6661

Now, admittedly, there’s nothing wrong with these before the gold spray paint. They’d be cute even left natural. But I do like the little bit of sparkle the gold adds.

As I was spraying, I realized that the gold spray paint was really easy to work with. It’s not far from the original color (I wasn’t spraying them red), so even though I didn’t get it in every nook and cranny, it’s almost impossible to tell. You’d probably need to be more thorough if you were going a completely different color.

IMG_6589

My paper plates are from the dollar store. A real dollar store. Where everything is $1 (or sometimes less). Some dollar stores around here aren’t true dollar stores. Trick tricky.

I wrapped black plastic silverware with a white napkin and tied twine around it.

IMG_6630

And then a certain little boy wanted to join in on the fun! I was using his little table, after all.

IMG_6621

I draped some fun wrapping paper over his little table to take pictures.

IMG_6626

Is he not the cutest little guy you’ve seen?!

IMG_6668

Just hanging out in jammies and big fluffy vests. It’s cold!

IMG_6672

And then he said, “Mommy. I wuv-a have a sammich on dis petty pate! Peas!” (I’d love to have a sandwich on this pretty plate. Please!) So I made him a sammich.

Ah, paper plate holders. What do you think? Would you use them?

© Rice Designs 2012-2013

2 thoughts on “diy: paper plate holders

Leave a Reply

