round up {twinkle lights}

This week has been so exciting for me. On Monday morning, Remodelista featured one of my photographs. On Monday night, I got an email that craftgawker accepted one of my submissions. And last night, I got another email that they accepted another submission. It’s quite exciting and I’m very grateful! Crafting and creating is such fun for me and I love sharing it with others. If this is your first visit, welcome! I hope you look around and come back soon soon. Feel free you say ‘hi’ in the comments or via email {ricedesignblog (at) gmail (dot) com}. I’d love to hear from you! I’m working on a little site makeover to make it easier to navigate and a little more eye-catching. This web/blog design thing is foreign to me! I’m much better with spray paint and glue!

There’s nothing like a gray day to kill productivity and squash my plans to photograph our diy headboard! It’s not just a little cloudy. It’s been really dark and gray all day long. Quite dreary. I’m so excited to share that project, though. It’ll happen this week!

So for today, let’s talk about twinkle lights. Aka Christmas lights. Aka the electric company’s best friend. Most commonly seen in December, or year round in a college house. They can also be found in my house. Four rooms of my house, actually. There’s something about twinkle lights that just make me happy. They actually give off a nice, soft light and, when done right, can look not-college. At least that’s what I keep telling myself!

I’ll self appoint myself a twinkle light expert, for the time being, and give a couple tips for adding some non-college twinkle to your home!

1. Match your wall color. Hanging lights against a white wall? Go for the white wire. Dark wall? Go for the typical green wire. Gray wall? Eh, your call. Whatever blends in more!

2. To make up for not using an led strand, I use mine sparingly. I just like the light from regular, old fashioned, energy-sucking twinkle lights! (I actually haven’t noticed a change in our electric bill from them!)

3. Invest in some 3-M hooks (they make ones specifically for light wire). Small nails also work for hanging. Just skip the tape. And try to space the hooks/nails relatively evenly the lights hang evenly.

4. Hide the end, if you can (perhaps behind a picture or in a vase). If not, just put a hook/nail at the end so it’s not just dangling there.

5. I think they look nice up where the wall meets the ceiling, framing a wall a little bit.

And here are some examples of twinkle lights done right!

3f8ff8909121082430099e2ee50319bb

I don’t know the source of this photo. If it’s yours or you know who it belongs to, please let me know!

I love this kitchen. White and bright. The wood floors and accents bring in warmth. And those twinkle lights framing the window are so charming.

IMG_4718_rect640

This photo is from a home tour on Apartment Therapy.

This is how I have the twinkle lights in our home- where the wall meets the ceiling.

3087745777_a54759866e

via sfgirlbybay

Chalkboard and twinkle lights. What a great combo.

drivved

This photo and the next is from Annaleena.

Another great combo- driftwood and twinkle lights.

ljus1

A graphic take on twinkle lights! Creative!

vintage-southern-mexican-wedding-35

Photo by Steven Michael Photography via Ruffled

And of course, twinkle lights can be used outside, too. We had trees wrapped in lights at our outdoor wedding, similar to this lovely photograph. Twinkle lights always look romantic at a wedding, but could also be a nice addition to your yard any time!

IMG_1858

Here’s an instagram shot of our dining room back before Christmas. I put the lights up for the holidays, but decided to keep them up because they’re just so cozy to eat under! (Nice photo bomb, G!)

So what do you think? Should twinkle lights be limited to holiday decorations and college houses? Personally, I think they’re lovely anytime!

(P.S. You can sign up over there on the left so you don’t miss anything at RICE!)

3 thoughts on “round up {twinkle lights}

  1. We have fairly/twinkle lights all over our house. Currently we have the IKEA snowflake ones in our living room windows (they stay there all winter as it’s the only way to survive the cold Canadian ones) and then in our bedroom over the window. I love them!

Leave a Reply

