round up {chalkboard walls}

I have a thing for chalkboard walls. Perhaps they make me feel nostalgic. I used to play school as a kid like it was my job. And who didn’t love to write on the chalkboard in grade school. Chalkboards in the home are fun and functional, if you ask me. They’re easy to make. They’re inexpensive. And if you ever get tired of it you can just (prep and) paint over it! We have two chalkboards in our home- one in the living room by G’s little table and one in the dining room, right off the kitchen. I thought I’d share a little roundup of chalkboard walls to get you inspired! I’ve never done it, but I’ve seen all sorts of recipes online for making your own chalk paint. Does it work well? I’d love to hear if you’ve made your own chalkboard paint!

3a6fe3f5aa552a151395476cf0cd69f1

 

source

Chalkboard walls make a nice backdrop for hanging your pots and pans on the wall.

121618-kitchen_shelving_and_chalkboard_wall

source

Another chalkboard in the kitchen. I do wonder, though, if it’d get really greasy next to the stove? That’s one of the reasons I haven’t painted our kitchen backsplash with chalkboard paint… I’m not sure how well it’d hold up and if it’d quickly look really grungy.

5145ff5d09399605f77df3bbe3963dfe

source

If you aren’t sure about painting a wall, what about painting something to lean against the wall, like this old door? Charming!

chalkboardpaint02

source

Or what about on this wooden tray turned message center? Very fun!

Exciting-Powder-Room-Design-with-Chalkboard-Decoration

I don’t know the source of this picture. If you do, or it’s yours, please let me know!

I love this chalkboard in the bathroom.. and especially that perfectly well loved yellow chair.

There’s no limit on the fun that can be had with chalkboard paint. From small scale, like the tray above, to larger, like entire walls, there’s so much that can be done! Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be back to show our chalkboard walls, as well as G’s new big boy room!

 

2 thoughts on “round up {chalkboard walls}

Leave a Reply

