diy: make a coffee station

Does anyone else wake up and get excited about having coffee, or is that just me? I love my morning cup o’ jo! I turned a corner of our kitchen counter into my little coffee station and it’s perfect. Everything I need to make my coffee, all together is one cute place. Here’s what you need to make your own coffee station!

coffee station collage

 

So how’s that for a first collage/mood board collection. It was pretty fun to make, even without Photoshop! Pixlr is awesome. And so is this tutorial. 

Let’s break it down…

Anthropologie has some pretty cute mugs, like this little owl one. Of course, I’m always a fan of collecting mugs at thrift stores!

An old jar is perfect for holding your ground coffee (or coffee beans).

The simple white sugar bowl is on sale at Crate and Barrel.

This tray can be found here.

That tray can be found here. (And yes, is a definite splurge. But so cool!)

The key to getting the right tray is one that’s easy to wipe up and has sides or edges. Have you ever not pushed the coffee pot in the whole way, so when the coffee brewed it just spilled out everywhere? I did that once. Wasted coffee! But I was so glad it was all contained in the tray. So the tray is functional and pretty.

Extra mugs are always good to have for company, like these from Ikea.

And Ikea’s Grundtal rail, hanging on the wall beside the coffee station, is perfect for holding your mugs. Don’t forget hooks.

And of course, you can’t forget your coffee maker, filters and a measuring spoon. You can even add a little cup of spoons at your coffee station, ready to mix in the cream and sugar.

It’s not ground breaking, but having all my coffee things in one spot, looking cute, it just kind of fun! I’m always a fan of scouting thrift stores to find what you need, so keep an eye out for jars, trays and mugs next time you’re thrifting!

2 thoughts on “diy: make a coffee station

Leave a comment