diy {how to hide a painted line that isn’t crisp}… and my office is partly black!

How’s that for a wordy title?!

I’ve started seeing a trend every time my sweet friend, Jill, comes over. After each visit (or sometimes during), I end up painting something black. Last week it was my whole kitchen. This week it was a section of the guest room/office/craft room. When Tristan came home and noticed something else fell victim to my black wall crush, I blamed Jill (sorry Jill)! But let’s be honest, I probably would have done it anyway. Just like with spray painting, it’s a rare occasion when I get an idea to paint a wall (or piece of furniture) and I’m actually able to stop myself.

So the other day, while Gabe was napping (and I should have been doing laundry), I decided to pull apart my workspace and paint around it. I pinned this image a while ago and it kept creeping into my mind. It was my inspiration.

workspace inspiration

I mean, does that place just exude productivity or what?! I bet the person that works there gets a lot done.

I wanted my desk area to be painted similarly. I decided how much of the wall should be black, got my painters tape out and taped off the bottom portion of the wall. And in true gotta-get-this-done-no-time-to-measure form, I just eyeballed it to get a level line. I actually downloaded a level app on my iPhone, but when I couldn’t figure out how to use it in 5 seconds I deleted it. Patience is a virtue I might need to work on! Luckily, I’ve been honing my eyeballing skills for some years now, and I’m happy to report that the line is not slanted.

IMG_7219

This is what I was working with. Looks messy, right? You should have seen it the day before. I had literally emptied the entire closet and every drawer in the room so I could get really organized. And then I took 8 boxes to Goodwill. Much like painting, when I get the urge to purge, there’s not much that can stop me. Well, a bum back can stop me. So I’m thankful for a husband who can lift those 8 boxes into the car. Kuddos to me for remembering to take a before picture.

I decided I wanted the black to come 3/4 up the clipboards that hang above the shelf. So I made a mark on the wall while everything was hanging up, then took it all down and used that marking as a guide for where to put the tape.

IMG_7223

Extra kuddos for taking a process picture. You can also sort of see that I taped off the wall to the right of the window. I decided not to paint that wall, though.

It didn’t take long at all to paint this. When you’re painting with tape, remember to pull your brush away from the tape. You don’t want to push paint under the tape.

So once it was dry enough (more accurately, once I couldn’t wait any longer) I pulled the tape back. And was bummed to find this…

IMG_7233

Womp womp wooooomp. So much for a crisp line. The whole thing wasn’t this bad, but none of it was crisp. I thought about taking leftover wall paint and trying to touch it up, but that would’ve taken forever, been really tedious, and still wouldn’t give a perfectly crisp line.

So I decided to use some cotton clotheslines I had laying around and hide it, while also adding a little embellishment and texture! I thought about hot-glueing it to the wall, but I wasn’t sure if that would be easy to remove. So I opted for tiny, silver, sewing pins instead. They leave such minuscule holes in the wall and aren’t noticeable at all.

IMG_7374

 

This is the cotton clothesline I used. I’m pretty sure you can find it at Walmart. $3 for 100 yards or something crazy. Make sure you get the cotton kind, and not the nylon kind. It’s prettier.

I wrapped the end in some clear tape, then cut it on the tape. I thought this would keep it from unraveling. Then I just started tacking it to the wall, along the un-crisp tape line. I put a pin maybe every foot or so. Except at the corner. I put more around there to get the right angle.

IMG_7346

 

You can’t really see the rope from far away, unless you know it’s there or you’re looking for it.

IMG_7363

 

But once you get a little closer, it looks simply lovely! I love the added detail and texture.

IMG_7354

 

Isn’t it a nice touch? I’m quite glad the line wasn’t crisp because I’m not sure I would have thought to do this otherwise. And I just realized that one of the pictures I have on the clipboards has a photo of a room with a similar paint job! I must like this look.

And there you go! An unexpected mistake added a lovely detail to my new partially black workspace! If you ever pull back tape and are bummed to find an un-crisp line… fear not! I love finding creative solutions and this one might be a favorite.

3 thoughts on “diy {how to hide a painted line that isn’t crisp}… and my office is partly black!

  1. Pingback: diy {a succulent in rope} | rice designs

Leave a Reply

