when someone gives you a brick….

… don’t get mad… get crafty?!

A couple months ago, someone gave us a brick. By way of throwing it. At our windshield. So for a couple months, we’ve had this lone brick sitting around our house. I’ve seen bricks dressed up and used in different ways, most often as book ends. But it didn’t occur to me until I saw this post on craftgawker that I should turn our gifted brick into something fun. When life hands you lemons…. you know!

IMG_8087

 

the brick before

I slapped some white paint on it (acrylic craft paint- if it was warmer I would have spray painted it gold) and then sat staring at it, unsure what to do next. I started making black polka dots on it, but didn’t like it, so I wiped the black off and painted it white again. I had white cotton clothesline sitting on my desk, and it caught my eye. I decided to wrap it around the brick. I just winged it and ended up wrapping it in stripes.

IMG_8151

Who would have thought that a brick that withstands being thrown at a windshield (and busting the windshield) would break when I start wrapping rope around it. And did you know that hot glue doesn’t really stick to bricks.. or maybe it was the paint that was on the brick. Either way, I’ll be honest and say this project, which was supposed to be simple and quick, didn’t quite go as planned! The rope holds the broken brick together, but it needs to be handled gently. I never thought I’d say to Gabe, “Be careful with the brick.. it’s fragile!” If I made another one, I’d use different paint (either spray paint or latex wall paint) because the acrylic craft paint got kind of chalky, weird feeling.

IMG_8156

But the end result is kind of fun. And it adds a little something to the books in my crates. And the brick has a story.

IMG_8139

Perhaps you’ve never been gifted a brick. Don’t feel left out. You can probably buy them at a place like Home Depot. You could make a ton of brick bookends for what a gifted brick ends up costing!

IMG_8153

I guess it’s not technically a book end if it sits on top of the books!

IMG_8168

 

I like the different textures of the painted brick and the rope. I hope you’ve never been gifted a brick the way we were. Have any of you gotten crafty with bricks? What did you make?

3 thoughts on “when someone gives you a brick….

  1. That is just awful! I’m so sorry you had to go through that, and I hope for you that everything turned out ok. Brave of you to keep it around…….. the memory for me would just make me mad!

    • Aw you’re sweet… all is well- the police never found out who did it. We’re guessing some kids who were bored. City life! It made me so mad.. now I’m kind of over it!

  2. Pingback: Tattoos, A Timer, Tin, And A Tray On Wheels | Young House Love | Free Tattoo Font Generator Software For Unique Personalized Tattoo Designs

Leave a Reply

