rice is born!

The first post! It’s been a long time coming and I’m so glad it’s finally here. We’re still a serious work in progress and will be changing greatly over the next days and weeks. But sometimes you just have to go for it. So here it goes. Perhaps you’re wondering what you’ll find here. You’re not alone. I’m wondering a bit, too! You’ll find projects I’m working on. Recipes I like. Articles that encourage me. Images that inspire me. Things I’d like to try. Things I’d like to make. Tours of our ever changing home. And perhaps, if you’re lucky, a few pictures of the cutest, sweetest two year old you’ll ever see. I hope you come by often. You can expect regular posts. At the least, once a day. Maybe, hopefully, more. But please be patient as we get things rolling. I would love to hear from you. I’d love to hear what you think, what you like, what you’d like to see, or just to introduce yourself. We can live simply, creatively, together!

And because a post isn’t complete without a picture, here you go. You don’t need a big event to have a fun dinner party. And you don’t need to spend tons of money or time. Saturday night we had some family over and I used it as an excuse to get crafty.

A simple download made these lovely menus. Perched on top of light gray napkins tied with twine, in front of place cards, this menu was a fun way to decorate the table and let our family know what they’d be eating!

To make your own menu (or table number, invitation, RSVP card etc) click here!

Preparing for ten people (half of them being children 4 and under) around the table, I decided to make place cards. My tip: use what you have! I rounded up my old, small glass vases, wrapped them with some twine, filled them with some airy grasses and twirly things and finished them with white tags, where I wrote each name. White tags like this can be found at Walmart. I use them frequently as gift tags and now place cards!

Are you hosting a party for the fourth? Having friends for dinner this weekend? Use it as an excuse to get crafty! Have a blessed day and be inspired!

5 thoughts on “rice is born!

  1. Nice! I love your place cards! I wish I had your artistic taste :(
    And I like the “regular posts” part: you’ll always have one enthusiastic follower from Italy ;)

    Ciao,
    Stefania

  2. I love your blog !Great ideas and I love the projects ! Thanks so much for sharing all of your creative ideas .

Leave a comment